Databases at PTS
The following online databases, most relevant to biblical studies, contain journal articles, books, essay, reviews, and more. For a complete list of the databases available at PTS, go to the Articles & Databases section of the library website. For more information on using databases, see the Finding Articles libguide.
- Atla Religion Database with AtlaSerials PLUS This link opens in a new window The premier theological database with index and full-text of journal articles, book reviews, and collections of essays in all fields of religion.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window JSTOR is a digital library that contains full-text journal articles, conference proceedings, primary source materials, and ebooks from a variety of disciplines.
- New Testament Abstracts This link opens in a new window Contains more than 46,000 article abstracts, over 1,600 review abstracts, 17,000 book abstracts, and 61 software abstracts on all topics and disciplines of the New Testament.
- Old Testament Abstracts This link opens in a new window Continas indexing and abstracts for journal articles, monographs, multi-author works, and software related to Old Testament studies.
What's a Library Database?
Scripture Citation Research in ATLA Religion Database
The following instructions will aid you in finding articles that explore particular Bible passages.
Search #1 - Scripture Passages
- Access ATLA Religion Database w/ ATLASerials PLUS.
- Click on the 'Scriptures' link above the search boxes.
- Go through the list of books by using the 'Next' link until you find the book of the Bible you're interested in.
- Click on the [Expand] link.
- Go through the list of chapters by using the 'Next' link until you find the right chapter.
- Do NOT click on the [Expand] link. Instead, click on the chapter link (i.e. Chapter 11). By doing this, you will get all the results for a particular chapter, which will include all the results you'd get by narrowing to a verse in addition to other results that might be just as relevant.
- You will then get a list of results, and will see the search entered in the search box above (see image below).
- You can add more chapters by using the same format as you see above, and by using the connector 'OR.'
- Consider using limits in the column on the left to narrow your results to 'Scholarly (Peer Reviewed)' articles, by Publication Date (after 1985 is recommended), or by Language (many articles in ATLA Religion are written in French, German, and other languages).
NOTE: Using the Full Text limit will narrow your results list to only those records that have a full-text article. However, since you can request articles through interlibrary loan, you may want to consider NOT using the Full Text limit. Otherwise, you may miss the perfect article!
Search #2: Topical Information
- Access ATLA Religion Database w/ ATLASerials PLUS.
- Click on the 'Scriptures' link above the search boxes.
- Go through the list of books by using the 'Next' link until you find the book of the Bible you're interested in.
- Click on the book link (i.e. Genesis). This will enter it into the search box and give you results for that book of the Bible. Depending on the book of the Bible, you will likely have a high number of results.
- In the second search box, add a topic that you want to focus on in the particular book of the Bible. Add quotes if it is a phrase.
- Depending on how many results you have, consider using limits in the column on the left to narrow your results to 'Scholarly (Peer Reviewed)' articles, by Publication Date (after 1985 is recommended), or by Language (many articles in ATLA Religion are written in French, German, and other languages).
NOTE: Using the Full Text limit will narrow your results list to only those records that have a full-text article. However, since you can request articles through interlibrary loan, you may want to consider NOT using the Full Text limit. Otherwise, you may miss the perfect article!