Skip to main content

PS435 Pastoral Ministry & Healthcare: Find Articles

Course guide for PS435 Pastoral Ministry & Healthcare

Recommended Databases for PS435

The following online databases, most relevant to Pastoral Ministry & Healthcare, contain journal articles, books, essay, reviews, and more. For a complete list of the databases available at PTS, go to the Articles & Databases section of the library website. For more information on using databases, see the Finding Articles libguide. You may also find relevant articles and studies in the publicly accessible sections of PubMed from the NIH.

Subject Searches to Get You Started

These subject headings can also be used in databases that use the Library of Congress system, like the ATLA Religion Database. As well as clicking the links for entry in to our CALVIN catalog, you can copy and paste the text into a Subject search in those databases.

What's a Library Database

Limiting to Scholarly Articles

In some of our databases you can limit the items in your result list to scholarly (also known as peer-reviewed or refereeed) articles only. The different limiters are found on the left-hand side of your result list under Refine Results.

One option is to check the Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journals box under the Limit To heading. As you can see, there are some other limiters available that may also be useful in refining your search.

You can also limit your results to scholarly materials by choosing Academic Journals under Source Types.

Access Options in Databases

Full Text Online Items

Items in the databases that are available in full text can generally be downloaded as PDFs, and can be read online in their entirety. The availability of full text is indicated in the result list by the PDF Full Text icon circled below.

 

If you are doing searching off campus or at hours the library is not open, you may only want to see Full Text Available items in your searching. You can use the limiter on the left side of the Result List to see only those digitally available items.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

When limiting your results to Full Text, you may also see the green Full Text Finer icon shown below. This occurs when the library has a subscription to the journal indicated, but not through the database. Using the Full Text Finder link will take you to the library catalog record for the journal, which should contain a link to the journal online.

 

Print Journals

Articles indexed in the databases include journals that we have only in print, or older volumes of journals that have not yet been digitized. If an item in the result list says PTS owns this title and has a Check Holdings in the Barbour Library link as well as a green Full Text Finder link, it is only available in print in the library. Either link will take you to the library record for the journal title, which will provide additional information you may need, like what volumes or years we have in the library. Print journals can be found in the Periodicals room on the main floor, and are shelved in alphabetical order  by journal title.

 

Titles Not Owned by PTS

You may find relevant materials indexed in the databases that we don't own or subscribe to at PTS. Those items can be identified by a result record that states Notes: ILL for items not held by PTS and has not other access options like the item pictured below. If you are interested in such an item, it can be obtained through Interlibrary Loan. See 'What if You Can't Access an Article You Need?' below for further information.