Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Remote Access: Library Account, eBooks, & Databases: Remote Access - Databases and eBooks

See what's checked out on your account, access the library's online resources off campus, and more.

Remote Access: Journal Article Databases & eBooks

Authentication for remote/off-campus access to article databases and electronic resources requires:

  ▪ Your last name. Omit any spaces, hyphens, or apostrophes (i.e. ONeill rather than O'Neill).

  ▪ Your PTS Barbour Library barcode number found on the back of your ID card or library card. 

  ▪ A valid PTS record in the library's patron database. 

  ▪ For some of our electronic resources you may have to pass through an additional proxy server using the same account credentials.

For more information, call the Circulation Desk at 412-924-1354 or email libraryinfo@pts.edu.

Journal Article Databases

When you need to search for journal articles or other information, go to the Articles and Databases section of the library website. Journal article databases range from ATLA Religion Database (a database indexing religious periodicals) to JSTOR (indexing more general periodicals). Other databases, such as the the Digital Karl Barth Library, provide primary sources and/or reference materials. For further instruction on navigating the databases, visit the Finding Articles LibGuide and the Using the ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials Plus LibGuide. 

Log in page

For some of our electronic resources you may have to pass through an additional proxy server using the same account credentials. It is shown below.

eBooks

Recently, Barbour Library has begun to increase the number of eBooks in its collection. Most eBooks are available through the library's catalog, although there are also some eBooks we have available only through databases. See the eBooks LibGuide for more in-depth instruction on utilizing the full range of available eBooks.

At this time, Barbour Library doesn't offer eBooks for checkout or download but for online reading purposes only. Some vendors allow portions of an eBook to be saved or printed but it varies by publisher.

Troubleshooting Database Issues

Though some articles are available online, full text, not all are.  Watch for messages like:

  • Notes:  PTS owns this title. Check the catalog for location.

This means that the library has a hard copy of the periodical and you may get it by physically coming to the library.

  • Notes:  Use Interlibrary Loan for titles not held by PTS

The PTS library does not own this article in print or digitally but it may be obtained through Interlibrary Loan.