Introduction to Other eBooks
- Atla Historical Monographs Collection: Series 1 This link opens in a new windowATLA Historical Monographs Collection: Series 1 and 2 provides religious and theological literature from the late 13th century to 1922. Series 1 includes monographs prior to the 1893 World Parliament of Religion.
- Atla Historical Monographs Collection: Series 2 This link opens in a new windowATLA Historical Monographs Collection: Series 1 and 2 provides religious and theological literature from the late 13th century to 1922. Series 2 includes monographs from 1893 through 1922.
With both ATLA Historical Monographs Series, searching is similar to the EBSCO eBooks and other EBSCO databases.
1. Enter in your search term(s) in the boxes provided. Then click Search.
2. Click on the Access now (PDF) to see the eBook contents. Unlike other eBooks, the pages are pictures or images of text, and it may take a while for the PDF to load.
3. To get to other sections, you can either page through using the arrows at the bottom, enter in a page number at the bottom, or scroll through.
4. There are multiple options on the top right toolbar that you might find useful, including:
-Cite (image of quotations)
-Download (download image)
-Print (printer icon)
-Listen (headphones icon)
There are similar features and technical information as the EBSCO eBook collection available.
- Oxford Scholarship Online - Religion This link opens in a new windowContains over 450 full-text eBooks featuring all areas of religion and theology from Oxford University Press. Narrow your choices under Availability to "purchased," "free," and "open access" to see a list of available eBooks.
1. To view the list of available full-text eBooks, on the left hand side under Availability, check the All content I have access to box to automatically narrow your results
2. Click on the book title to view more details and access content
3. To view content, scroll down to the Contents section and click on the chapter title or view title
4. This will bring up the HTML view. To view the PDF, click on the PDF icon
5. Once the PDF is opened, you are able to print or download that specific chapter
There are multiple digital library collections through Alexander Street Press: Karl Barth, Classical Protestant Texts, Catholic Reformation, and Twentieth Century Religious Thought, Volume I-IV, (see list at bottom for links to all). They are similar in search techniques so you can use the following instructions below to gain access to content.
1. Once you select a collection, you will find the menu along the top of the page under the image header. Sometimes the headers are single buttons while others are images to scroll through. Depending on the resource, you can browse a list of all works, authors, genres, series, publishers, archival collections, and order/affiliation or you can conduct a search.
2. When viewing by:
- Authors - click the number under the Works By column to see a list of all documents available by that author or select Works About. This is often titled "Browse People" after getting to the results screen instead of Authors.
- Works - click the View Text link which will take you to the table of contents for that specific work. There is also the option to view images and bibliographical details.
- Series - click the number under the Related Works column where you can see the works associated with that series.
- Genre - click on the number under the Count column to be taken to a list of works.
- Archival Collections - click on the number under the Documents column to bring you to a list of works.
- Publishers - click on the number under the Related Works column to see items by a particular publisher.
- Religious Traditions - click on the number either under the Authors or Works columns.
- Topics - click on View Results to be brought to a list of sections about that topic. Click on the section title to be taken to the text.
*Please note that you are able to refine your search at anytime when browsing.
3. You can also conduct a search by:
- Authors - enter in the author's name (ex. Calvin, Jean). There are options to search within a specific topic or biblical citation.
- Works - enter in keyword(s) into the search box. Click on "show search options" which will allow you to limit your search by author, title, genre, language, etc.
- Digital Karl Barth Library This link opens in a new windowFeatures Barth's magnum opus (Die kirchliche Dogmatik), the first 36 volumes of Barth's Gesamtausgabe, which includes hundreds of letters, sermons, lectures, conversations, and academic writings, as well as seven additional German works that have not yet been published.
- Digital Library of Classic Protestant Texts This link opens in a new windowChristian texts from the Reformation and post-Reformation eras by authors whose writings shapes the Lutheran, Reformed, Anglican, Presbyterian, Baptist, and Anabaptist traditions.
- Digital Library of the Catholic Reformation This link opens in a new windowWorks by Catholic authors written during the 16th and 17th centuries. Includes papal documents, liturgical works, inquisitorial manuals, biblical commentaries, and more.
- Twentieth Century Religious Thought, Volume I: Christianity This link opens in a new windowTwentieth Century Religious Thought is a multivolume, cross-searchable online collection that brings together the seminal works and archival materials related to key worldwide religious thinkers, from the early 1900s until the turn of the 21st century. Volume I on Christianity currently features more than 250 authors from Africa, Europe, Latin America, and North America, including Karl Barth, Dietrich Bonhoeffer, Hans Urs von Balthasar, plus many more.
- Twentieth Century Religious Thought, Volume II: Islam This link opens in a new windowTwentieth Century Religious Thought is a multivolume, cross-searchable online collection that brings together the seminal works and archival materials related to key worldwide religious thinkers, from the early 1900s until the turn of the 21st century. Volume II, Islam focuses on modern Islamic theology and tradition and details Islam’s evolution from the late 19th century by examining printed works and rare documents by Muslim writers, both non-Western and Western voices.
- Twentieth Century Religious Thought, Volume III: Judaism This link opens in a new windowTwentieth Century Religious Thought is a multivolume, cross-searchable online collection that brings together the seminal works and archival materials related to key worldwide religious thinkers, from the early 1900s until the turn of the 21st century. Volume III, Judaism focuses on modern Jewish theology and philosophy and details Judaism’s evolution from the late 19th century by examining printed works and rare documents.
- Twentieth Century Religious Thought, Volume IV: Eastern Religions This link opens in a new windowTwentieth Century Religious Thought is a multivolume, cross-searchable online collection that brings together the seminal works and archival materials related to key worldwide religious thinkers, from the early 1900s until the turn of the 21st century. Volume IV, Eastern Religions focuses on the various facets of Eastern Religion spanning over two-hundred years.
- Past Masters This link opens in a new windowThis is a collection of full text works by Chekhov, Lombardus, Luther, Machiavelli, Montaigne, Montesquieu, Plotinus, Suárez, Vico, and Wright. Chinese philosophy and presocratic writings are also included.
Option 1 - Select Title
1. Click a title from the list presented on the main page.
2. A list of works will be available on the left hand side of the browser. Click the volume you want, then volume again, and keep clicking until you find the section you are looking for.
Option 2 - Search
1. Click Search from the top menu bar.
2. This will bring you to a search screen where you can: enter in keyword(s), search in specific titles, search in specific subjects, limit by author, and much more.
3. On the results page, you can click on Volume which will bring you to the whole section OR you can click on the word and it will take you to that specific section where the word was found.
There is also an option to browse by Subject.
- Translated Texts for Historians E-Library This link opens in a new windowHistorical sources from A.D. 300-800 translated into English. Includes theological works as well as chronicles, histories, letters, compendia and more.
1. Scroll down and click on the title you want to view. All the volumes for the series are listed by volume number.
2. This will bring you to the details page of the book selected. To view the full text, click PDF.
Electronic Resources Librarian
Pittsburgh Theological Seminary
616 N. Highland Ave.
Pittsburgh, PA 15206