Other Features
You are also able to browse journal titles based off their publication name or by subject. To do either, first you must go to Find Journal Titles through the library's homepage.
To browse by publication name:
1. Select the first letter of the journal from the list
2. From the row underneath, select All to view all the titles or select one of the two letter combinations
To browse by subject:
1. Click Browse Subjects from either the top menu or bottom section
2. Scroll down the list of subjects and click the arrow to expand to see additional subjects under those headings
*The number in parentheses indicates the number of journal names in that subject.
3. Click the sub-heading name to see those journals or if you want to view all under the main subject, click 'Browse all'
*Note: It is important to understand that browsing isn't limited to journals. It will also bring up books (electronic), but to filter those out, use the facets on the left side to only view journals once results are shown.
If you are searching within an EBSCO databases (such as Atla Religion Database with AtlaSerials PLUS), you might come across an article that doesn't have PDF Full Text available.
Examples:
1. In the case below, there isn't a PDF available through the current database. You have two options:
A. Check Barbour Library holdings will take you to the online catalog record (print or microform holdings)
B. Full Text Finder will take you to a page listing all of the possible sources where the journal title/article can be found
2. Another example where there isn't a PDF available, there are two options once again but Linked full text will directly open up the article
There will be times where none of these options are available. In these cases, fill out a request form, email Mark Russell, or stop by the Circulation Desk.
1. To conduct an advanced search, click on the Full Text Finder icon
2. Click Advanced Search
3. Enter in your search term(s)
4. You can also limit your search by discipline, date published, etc.
5. Once you have filled in all the information, click Search
6. A list of articles will appear in the search results
7. Click on:
- the article title for a more detailed description
- PDF Full Text to view the full text
- the Full Text Finder to view where you can access the journal (in many cases this means print copies)
You are able to search within a specific journal title. For example, you want to see what articles talk about the "New Testament" in the Sociology of Religion.
1. Search by journal title or ISSN
2. In the search results, you will see a box that says Search within Publication
3. Type in the keyword(s), article title, or author and click the magnifying glass icon
4. The search results will appear
5. Click on:
- the article title for a more detailed description
- PDF Full Text to view the full text
- the Full Text Finder to view where you can access the journal (in many cases this means print copies)
Find Journal Titles
-
Find Journal Titles This link opens in a new windowSearch to see if Barbour Library has access to the journal title you are looking for.
Add to Folder
EBSCO gives you the option to store article records in a folder. In order for these saved items to be stored after you log off, you must sign in before you add items to your folder. To sign in, you must create a free account by clicking Sign In and then clicking on Create One Now.
Electronic Resources Librarian
Pittsburgh Theological Seminary
616 N. Highland Ave.
Pittsburgh, PA 15206